Artist-in-Residence Open Studio Hours

calendar hero wsb building fort

10:30 am - 3:30 pm

artist-in-residence: betony coons 

Betony Coons’ paintings are large, iconic images holding frenetic energy and bold color. As a mother of three, Betony is constantly moved by the beauty and wonder of childhood, reflected in her whimsical paintings and murals that explore home, love and struggle.

open studio hours

Betony has open studio hours through October. Swing by to pick her brain, collaborate on a piece and explore art in a whole new way!

Friday, July 28, 10:30 am - 3:30 pm
Sunday, August 13, 12 - 4 pm
Friday, August 18, 10:30 am - 3:30 pm
Wednesday, August 23, 11 am - 4 pm
Friday, August 25, 10:30 am - 3:30 pm
Friday, September 1, 10:30 am - 3:30 pm
Friday, September 15, 10:30 am - 3:30 pm
Friday, September 22, 10:30 am - 3:30 pm
Friday, October 13, 10:30 am - 3:30 pm

Open studio hours are subject to change.

fee-based workshop: paper puppet theater

Wednesday, October 11, 5:30 - 7 pm

Join artist-in-residence, Betony Coons, to build your own tabletop puppet stage! Decorate your theater, create an interchangeable background and make shadow puppets. You’ll leave with everything you need to put on original theatrical productions at home. It’s showtime! 

closing reception

Wednesday, October 25, 6 - 7 pm

Join us for a fond farewell to Betony and see the piece she created just for the Museum. No RSVP required, just show up.

what is an artist-in-residence?

artist-in-residence blog

Check out the blog for cool videos, interviews with our artists and more!

 
 
 
 



hours

  • Mon, Tue, Thu, Fri: 9 am - 4 pm
  • Wed: 9 am - 7:30 pm
  • Sat, Sun: 10 am - 5 pm

Target First Tuesdays
Free Play 4 - 8 pm

Closed certain holidays.

admission*

  • Under Age One: Free
  • Age One: $11
  • Ages 2 - 59: $13
  • Seniors (60+): $11
  • Members: Free

become a member

*Event Day Pricing may apply. 

location

2121 Children's Museum Drive
Denver, CO 80211

Google Map

plan your visit

Privacy © 2015 Children's Museum of Denver

site by truematter

beetles