Artist-in-Residence Program


air-page-wes-SecondaryPage-Hero
Your children are one-of-a-kind, and so is the art they make.
That’s why we designed the Artist-in-Residence Program.

 

current artist: Victor Escobedo

Victor Escobedo is a mixed-media artist who reinterprets the ancient in a modern way. Join him during open studio hours to learn about Mayan folklore and expression, explore indigenous art forms and make your own hieroglyphics!

victor's open studio hours*

11 am - 2 pm in The Art Studio


January
Saturday, January 4
Friday, January 10
Saturday, January 11 
Friday, January 17 
Saturday, January 18
Friday, January 24
Friday, January 31

February
Saturday, February 1
Friday, February 7
Saturday, February 8
Friday, February 14
Saturday, February 15
Friday, February 21
Friday, February 28

March
Friday, March 6
Saturday, March 7
Friday, March 13
Saturday, March 14

artist finale

Join us on Friday, March 20 from 11 am - 3 pm for extended open studio hours to say goodbye to Victor and check out his exclusive art installation.

*Open studio hours are subject to change.


victor's work 1

victor's work 2
Victor's work

Artist-in-Residence Blog

To share the wonder and joy with you, we created an Artist-in-Residence Blog. Be sure to check it out regularly for cool videos, open studio hours, workshops, interviews with the artists and the collaborated works our artists make with you - Museum guests.

What is the Artist-in-Residence Program?

A truly special, exclusive art opportunity. Not only do professional Colorado artists come to work in the Museum and create beautiful art, but visiting guests of all ages contribute and collaborate.

The program is open to artists working in a variety of media, including sculpture, illustration, paints or textiles. Artists set up shop in The Art Studio and work for 2-3 months on a project to install at the Museum. Children and adults alike are invited to be part of this amazing program and witness the impact your creativity can make in the world!

Curious about the program? Check out this video to hear from some of our former artists about why this program is so amazing!

We are now accepting applications for the class of 2020. Learn more and apply here.

hours

During the phased reopening beginning July 16, the Museum will be open Thursdays, Fridays and Saturdays for three, 90-minute play sessions each day. Reservations required for all guests. Learn More

admission*

  • Under Age One: Free
  • Age One: $12
  • Ages 2 - 59: $14
  • Seniors (60+): $12
  • Members: Free

become a member
*Reservations required. Learn more here.

location

2121 Children's Museum Drive
Denver, CO 80211

Google Map

plan your visit

Privacy © 2020 Children's Museum of Denver

site by truematter

beetles